Sixth Army Group  

Go Back   Sixth Army Group > Discussion Areas > General Quarters

General Quarters General 1:6 WWII Discussion Forum

Old 06-15-2007, 09:05 PM   #1
SirMarcusRaphael
Sniper

Diorama Accessories?

I am new to the 1:6 diorama hobby. I have built model buildings in my profession (1:12 scale architectural presentations). however, I am having a little trouble finding some 1:6 scale accessories. Where can I purchase street scene items such as: street lamps, street signs, building signs, wood fencing, power or telephone poles, and park benches? Also, doors and windows; are they custom made or can be purchased? I am open for any suggestions. Thank you!
Old 06-16-2007, 08:53 AM   #2
Leatherneck
Brigade Commander

Welcome aboard!

You can buy some of that stuff in kits made by CyberHobby (aka CH). You can buy direct from them, but a lot of folks buy CH items off of the secondary market.

For the things that you mention, though, most folks who want those items build their own from scratch.
Old 06-16-2007, 03:48 PM   #3
Armor Abteilung
Mortarman

You will usually find that scratch building the items is your best bet. You can buy some stuff from manufacturers but I would also check some of the hobby stores for some items too.
Armor Abteilung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 05:43 PM   #4
Krieger
Battalion Commander

Welcome to the hobby. Your experience in architectural models will serve you well, since there isn't a lot of "purpose built" items such as you describe.

Buildings are non-existent, I suppose because they are just too large. Mostly we make our own, out of foam for indoor use, or various building materials like patio stones, poured cement etc for outdoor.

Streetlamps can be found with Christmas decor here:
https://www.christmasdepot.com/detail/UL1584

Cyber Hobby have released some European style utility poles. Check it out here: http://www.cyber-hobby.com